Release date: 11/1/2013

San Francisco Opera Principal Cellist David Kadarauch Receives San Francisco Opera Medal

Kadarauch Celebrates Fortieth Anniversary with San Francisco Opera

Photos Available
SAN FRANCISCO (November 1, 2013)—San Francisco Opera General Director David Gockley today announced that Principal Cellist David Kadarauch will receive the San Francisco Opera Medal, the highest honor awarded by the Company to an artistic professional.  Kadarauch joined the Company in 1973 and celebrates his fortieth anniversary with San Francisco Opera this year.  The Opera Medal will be presented to Kadarauch on stage at the War Memorial Opera House following the November 2 performance of Giuseppe Verdi’s Falstaff.  Joining Gockley onstage for the presentation will be San Francisco Opera Music Director and Falstaff conductor Nicola Luisotti.
David Kadarauch, Principal Cellist of the San Francisco Opera Orchestra for the last 40 years, was born in Washington, D.C. and educated at the Curtis Institute of Music and the Vienna Academy, where he studied on a Fulbright Scholarship. A winner of the Philadelphia Orchestra Youth Auditions, Kadarauch soloed with that orchestra in 1968, and was a finalist and prize winner in the Prague International Competition for Violoncello in 1970. Kadarauch recently retired from the position of Principal Cello with the San Francisco Ballet, a position he held for 29 years.
The San Francisco Opera Medal was established in 1970 by former General Director Kurt Herbert Adler. Past honorees include Dorothy Kirsten (1970), Leontyne Price (1977), Joan Sutherland (1984), Marilyn Horne (1990), Plácido Domingo (1994), Charles Mackerras (1995), Frederica von Stade (1997), James Morris (2001), Samuel Ramey (2003); former San Francisco Opera General Directors Kurt Herbert Adler (1978), Lotfi Mansouri (2001) and Pamela Rosenberg (2005); former San Francisco Opera Music Director Donald Runnicles (2009); and most recently, stage director John Copley (2010).  A complete list of Opera Medal recipients follows below.
San Francisco Opera Medal Recipients
1970 - Dorothy Kirsten
1972 - Jess Thomas
1973 - Paul Hager (house stage director)
1974 - Colin Harvey (chorister and chorus librarian)
1975 - Otto Guth
            Alexander Fried (San Francisco Examiner music critic)
1976 - Leonie Rysanek
1977 - Leontyne Price
1978 - Kurt Herbert Adler
1980 - Geraint Evans
1981 - Matthew Farruggio (production supervisor and house stage director)
            Birgit Nilsson
1982 - Regina Resnik
1984 - Joan Sutherland
1985 - Thomas Stewart
1987 - Régine Crespin
1988 - Philip Eisenberg (music staff)
1989 - Pilar Lorengar
           Bidú Sayao
1990 - Janis Martin
           Marilyn Horne
1991 - Licia Albanese
1993 - Walter Mahoney (costume shop manager)
1994 - Zaven Melikian (concertmaster)
           Michael Kane (master carpenter)
           Plácido Domingo
1995 - Charles Mackerras
1997 - Frederica von Stade
1998 - Irene Dalis
2001 - Lotfi Mansouri
           James Morris
2003 - Samuel Ramey
2004 - Joe Harris (dresser)
2005 - Pamela Rosenberg
2008 - Clifford (Kip) Cranna (director of music administration)
            Ruth Ann Swenson
2009 – Donald Runnicles
2010 – John Copley (stage director)
2012 – Ian Robertson (chorus director)
2012 – Jay Kotcher (scenic artist in charge)
2013 – David Kadarauch (principal cellist)
– SFO –
For further press information, please contact:
Jon Finck / (415)565-6472 /
Julia Inouye (415)565-6430 /
Robin Freeman (415)565-6451 /